Book Review: Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts-book-coverSummary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

Buy this book: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-girl-with-all-the-gifts/m-r-carey/9780356500157

My Review

It took me so long to get to this book and yet I still managed to avoid spoilers so the entire premise still shocked me. So I’m not going to ruin the plot by discussing it in too much detail!

This is the most interesting portrayal of Zombies I’ve read since The Passage trilogy, similarly to The Passage Zombies are not the one dimensional brain eaters we usually see. The characters are interesting, if incredibly flawed, and I enjoyed the development of the their different attitudes towards the Zombies as well as each other. Melanie is fascinating, you watch her entire concept of self rebuild itself.

I really enjoyed this book! Quite looking forward to seeing the film now!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s